All-NICL East Girls Basketball Team: D-NH's Ellie Foster earns 3rd Player of the Year award

Dike-New Hartford's Ellie Foster, shown here in last week's state quarterfinal against Jesup, is the NICL East's Player of the Year for the third year in a row. (Jake Ryder photo)

Dike-New Hartford's Ellie Foster was named the NICL East's top girls basketball player for the third year in a row in all-NICL East teams released this week.

Foster also earned her fourth All-NICL East first team selection. D-NH teammates Katie Knock and Morgan Weber join her on the first team as three-time first-teamers. Foster and Knock were unanimous picks to the first team, along with Jesup sophomore Amanda Treptow and Sumner-Fredericksburg senior Cassidy Pagel.

Foster and Knock were the top two scorers in NICL East play at 16.1 and 14.7 points per game, respectively. Foster added 3.6 rebounds, 3.3 assists and 2.9 steals per game against NICL East opponents. Knock averaged 3.7 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.2 steals. Weber was D-NH's leading rebounder, averaging 6.7 boards per NICL East game to go with an 8.9 scoring average.

D-NH finished as undefeated NICL East champions with a 16-0 record in division play. Bruce Dall was recognized as NICL East Coach of the Year for the second time in the last three seasons.

D-NH's two honorable mention players were freshman Ellary Knock and senior Jill Eilderts.


All-NICL East Girls Basketball Team


Player of the Year: Ellie Foster, sr., Dike-New Hartford.

Coach of the Year: Bruce Dall, D-NH.


First team

(* unanimous)

*Ellie Foster                    sr.            D-NH

*Katie Knock                  sr.            D-NH

*Amanda Treptow       soph.         Jesup

*Cassidy Pagel               sr.       Sumner-Fred

Ali Vesely                        jr.         Columbus

Morgan Weber               sr.            D-NH

Maddie McKenna           sr.          Hudson

Reese Johnson           soph.        Denver


Second team

Kaci Beesecker               sr.      Wapsie Valley

Brittany Lingenfelter       sr.            Jesup

Grace Hennessy            fr.           Denver

Payton McHone             sr.            Jesup

Abby Gaudian                sr.          Hudson

Reagan Lindsay             jr.         Columbus

Megan Johnson             sr.              A-P

Jaycie Ellis                      sr.              A-P

Natalie Tecklenburg       sr.            Union


Honorable mention (area teams only): Ainsley Brungard, sr., A-P; Ellary Knock, fr., D-NH; Jill Eilderts, sr., D-NH.


The Grundy Register

601 G. Avenue - P.O. Box 245
Grundy Center, IA 50638
Telephone: 1-319-824-6958
Fax: 1-800-340-0805

Mid-America Publishing

This newspaper is part of the Mid-America Publishing Family. Please visit for more information.